The Florida Council for the Social Studies recognizes the efforts and strengths Social Studies educators bring to their profession.

FCSS membership opens many opportunities for recognition. These awards are presented at the annual Florida Council for the Social Studies Conference in October. The following awards are presented during that conference.

Select the award for details and information about this year's recipient.

FCSS Social Studies Teacher of the Year Award


**Dr. L. Douglas Dobson Award for Student Civic Leadership** 



Harry T. Moore Teaching for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties Award

Warren Tracy Beginning Teacher Award

Excellence in Teaching History Award

Dr. Theron Trimble Teacher of the Year Award

Agnes Crabtree International Relations Award

BJ Allen Social Science Professional Award

JR Skretting Leadership Award

Wilma Simmons Golden Service Award

Dr. Randy Felton Outstanding Citizen Award

Doyle Casteel Outstanding Leadership Award

Gilder-Lehrman Florida American History Teacher of the Year

The National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS) is accepting nominations and applications for the following awards and grants. 

 Click Here for NCSS Awards & Grants Information